Why I’m Taking A Break From Being Called Christian


Disclaimer – This seems to be mostly a Western world problem. I am proud to be associated with Christians who are persecuted all over the world. They uphold the true definition of the word.

It is now “cool” to be the “permissive”, “tolerant” Hipster Christian. The Christian with the cocktail in hand, who goes to singles bars, swears and stays home from church, not occasionally, but every Sunday. I understand that I am not saved by works. I also understand that sometimes we need a generation that shakes us to our core and makes us search for the truth in our beliefs. In fact, I encourage that. However, if that search does not draw us closer to His Word, then the search has been in vain.

My 2016 One Word 365 is steadfast. My deepest desire is to remain steadfast to the cause, steadfast to my calling and steadfast to my Redeemer. So many fall away. Brothers and sisters that I never would have guessed have slid down slippery slopes of deception and ended farther from His precepts than I ever could have imagined. Friends, we cannot have His mind if we refuse to know His mind. His mind will never be in contradiction to what He has written. Period.

I want to remain true to the Truth, and this means clinging to what He said, and not what even “Christian” culture dictates.

According to the dictionary, being steadfast means to be: very devoted or loyal to a person, belief, or cause: not changing

Everything is changing. I want to dare to change not, to be the person who holds on to the anchor of the hope to which we are called, the one who reaches out an arm to those who are wandering aimlessly in the noncommittal world of broken promises. A world in which marriage doesn’t mean marriage anymore and the word Christian doesn’t mean one who follows after Christ alone any more. Just like Christmas doesn’t mean the celebration or “mass” of Christ’s birth, Christian no longer means one who is devoted to Christ. The definition of words change faster than the years causing generations the inability to communicate.

In fact, the newest example of poor definition is toward what is called “Progressive Christianity.” This brand of Christianity isn’t Christianity at all, for it includes everyone from every religion. Here are their tenants of faith:

  1.  Believe that following the path and teachings of Jesus can lead to an awareness and experience of the Sacred and the Oneness and Unity of all life;
  1.  Affirm that the teachings of Jesus provide but one of many ways to experience the Sacredness and Oneness of life, and that we can draw from diverse sources of wisdom in our spiritual journey;
  1.  Seek community that is inclusive of ALL people, including but not limited to:
  • Conventional Christians and questioning skeptics,
  • Believers and agnostics,
  • Women and men,
  • Those of all sexual orientations and gender identities,
  • Those of all classes and abilities;

One can not effectively follow after Christ, who proclaimed Himself the Way the Truth and the Life, stating that there is no way to the Father except through Him AND declare that there are many ways “to experience the Sacredness and Oneness of life…”

Urban Dictionary, not a reliable source to say the least, but a decent source of how the next generation is thinking, has a rating system to determine the best definition of crowd sourced entries to the site. The following is the top definition for Christianity: The belief that a cosmic Jewish Zombie who was his own father can make you live forever if you symbolically eat his flesh and telepathically tell him you accept him as your master, so he can remove an evil force from your soul that is present in humanity because a rib-woman was convinced by a talking snake to eat from a magical tree… yeah, makes perfect sense.

So, yes, I am no longer a “Christian” in the 21st Century Urban Dictionary Western World sense of the word. What I want more than anything is to remain Christian in the early church, chapter of Acts sense of the word: Radical, Risky and Revolutionary. If believing that the Bible makes me a radical, so be it. If stating that Jesus is the only Way, Truth and Life is risky, then I am taking that risk. If spiritual warfare and praying against the anti-Christ messages in our culture is revolutionary, then enlist me in that army. Call me surrendered one, sold out, or steadfastly His.

Call me a follower of Christ, a disciple, or a Believer, but I think I’ll take a break from Christian….that is, until the definition changes again to its original meaning of following the teachings of the life of Christ.

5 thoughts on “Why I’m Taking A Break From Being Called Christian

  1. It’s a pity how the Christian tag had been adulterated and filtered to fit the world’s standard. I pray believers remain steadfast this year and not compromise on their faith. Great post.

  2. Such a relevant message of TRUTH for today- thanks Kimberly for being obedient, and posting what to some may be uncomfortable but necessary to read. Jesus is the SAME yesterday, Today and Forever- and that goes for His Living Word, His Commandments, His Precepts. They DO NOT change with every cultural or law change or every wind of doctrine that is posted on social media. And being a Christian means following CHRIST and embracing and obeying HIM alone. Our God Reigns!

  3. I almost didn’t click the email link. The title threw me off. Not because I was appalled that would no longer want to be called a Christian, but I assumed it would be the usual foder I read in ‘modern Christian’ blogs or books; The message of the day: the world-view of Christianity is that it’s out of touch and narrow-minded, so lets conform to the world’s standards to get our message across! So tired and sickened by this. I’m glad I clicked through though. I think I might prefer myself to keep the name but let my life tell the true story of what it stands for… But otherwise 100% agree with you! Great post.

  4. This has been a blessing to my soul. It is discouraging when the the individuals who oppose the core foundation truths of our faith are our fellow brothers and sisters in Christ. I am encouraged to see that there are still many out here that are “steadfast” and reject this spirit of compromise.

Leave a Reply

